Historical Development

The Cyprus Radio and Television Authority is a regulatory body with broad powers and responsibilities that allow it to be independent to regulate and control radio and television matters effectively. The regulation of the broadcasting sector aims to safeguard the public interest through the protection of fundamental human rights and democratic principles, such as the right to freedom of expression and equal treatment, the objective and pluralistic information, and the transparency regarding the ownership of broadcasting organisations.

The Radio and Television Authority was established under the Radio and Television Organizations Law 7(I)/98. This Law regulates the establishment and operation of private radio and television broadcasters in Cyprus. With the amendment 197(I)/2021 of the Law, the Authority has acquired additional responsibilities. In particular, the Authority may verify whether video-sharing platform providers under the jurisdiction of the Republic of Cyprus apply the provisions of Part IXA of the Law. It is emphasized that the Authority has no power to examine the content of video-sharing platforms under the jurisdiction of the Republic but has the power to assess the appropriateness of the measures they must take to protect minors and the public, in accordance with article 32F of the above Law. In addition, the Authority regulates issues relating to the implementation of certain provisions of the Cyprus Broadcasting Corporation Law Cap. 300A concerning public broadcasting service.

The Authority consists of the President, the Vice-President and five Members, who are appointed for a period of six years by the Council of Ministers.

The Authority maintains close relations and cooperates with foreign organisations to closely follow international developments in the field of broadcasting. It is a member of the Mediterranean Network of Regulatory Authorities, the European Platform of Regulatory Authorities (EPRA) and the European Regulators Group for Audiovisual Media Services (ERGA) of the European Union.